The Hansch and Fujita Awards

The Hansch Award, established in 2000, is named after Prof. Corwin Hansch, the father of the quantitative structure-activity relationship (QSAR). Prof. Hansch was a pioneer of the interdisciplinary science of QSAR, and physical chemistry applied to drug discovery. The Hansch Award is awarded to a young scientist under the age of 40 who has made significant contributions to the field.

The Fujita Award, established in 2016, is named after Prof. Toshio Fujita for his pioneering and seminal contributions in the field of quantitative structure-activity relationships (QSAR) and computational methods for studying biologically active compounds. The Fujita Award is awarded to a senior scientist for their significant contributions to the field over their career.

The awards are presented at the European QSAR Symposia or the Gordon Research
Conferences on Computer-Aided Drug Design, where the awardees deliver an award lecture.




  • 2022 Andrea Volkamer
  • 2020 Giulia Palermo
  • 2017 Nathan Brown
  • 2016 Rommie Amaro
  • 2014 Andreas Bender
  • 2012 Renxiao Wang
  • 2011 Jeremy L. Jenkins
  • 2011 Anna Linusson
  • 2010 Ismael Zamora
  • 2009 Holger Gohlke
  • 2008 Heather Carlson
  • 2007 Andrew Hopkins
  • 2006 Jordi Mestres
  • 2005 Matthias Rarey
  • 2004 Rebecca Wade
  • 2003 David Clark
  • 2002 Tudor I. Oprea
  • 2001 Gabriele Cruciani
  • 2000 Hua Gao
  • 2022 Gerhard Klebe
  • 2020 Gerry Maggiora
  • 2016 Jürgen Bajorath